The Indian National Congress


  1. Association of Landholders:-Landholders Society (1837),Bengal British India Society (1843).In 1851 ,  the two were merged to form the British Indian Association.

  2. Bombay Association and Madras Native Association were established in 1852.They sent petitions suggesting changes in EIC charter to End Company’s monopoly of salt and indigo.

  3. Association like poona Sarvjanik Sabha were established to promote reform and political consciousness.

  4. 1876-Indian Association was founded in Calcutta by Surendranath Banerjee and Anand Mohan Bose.

  5. Madras Mahajan Sabha and Bombay Presidency Association were established in 1884.

  6. In December 1883,the Indian Association of surendra Nath Banerjee and Anand Mohan Bose decided to invite prominent public men and Association to discuss questions of general concern. This was referred to as the National Conference (in 1883),and is described as the dress rehearsal for the Indian National Congress(INC).

  7. National Conference and Indian National Union (by A O Hume in 1884) merged to form the Indian National Congress in 1885.


  1. The First meeting of the INC was organized by AO Hume of Gokaldas Tejpal Sanskrit College on December 28th 1885 (Bombay).Its first president was WC Banerjee.It was the first organized expression of the Indian NationalMovement on an all india scale.

  2. Hume’s main purpose in encouraging the foundation of the congress was probably to provide a”safety valve “ to the growing discontent among the educated Indians.

Aims and Objectives of Congress

  1. Promotion of friendship amongst the countrymen.

  2. Development and consolidation of feeling of national unity irrespective of race,caste,religion or provinces.

  3. Formulation of popular demands and presentation before the government through  petitions.

  4. Training and organizing of public opinion.

  5. Consolidation of sentiments of national unity.

  6. Recording of opinions of educated classes on pressing problems.

  7. Laying down lines for future courses of action in public interest.

The Methods of work

  1. Early congressmen had faith in peaceful and constitutional agitation.

  2. Prayers and petitions were the instruments.

  3. Congress sessions lasted only for three days a year.It had no machinery to carry on the work in the interval.

  4. They believed in the goodness of the British nation and believed that all would be well if the British could be acquainted with the true state of affairs in india. Deputation of Indians were sent to inform the british Public.

  5. In 1889 , a British Committee of INC was founded.

Points to be remember

  1. Indian National Congress was founded in the year 1885.

  2. Indian National Congress was founded by Allan Octavian Hume.

  3. First session of Indian National Congress was held at Mumbai (1885).

  4. Lord Dufferin was the Viceroy of British India, when the Indian National Congress was founded .

  5. First woman president of Indian National Congress was Mrs Annie Besant (1917).

  6. First Indian woman president of Indian National Congresswas Mrs Sarojini Naidu (1925).

  7. Woman Presidents of Indian National Congresswere Mrs Annie Besant (1917), Mrs Sarojini Naidu (1925) and Mrs. Nellie Sengupta (1933)

  8. First split of Indian National Congress in 1907 at Surat session.

  9. First Englishmen to become president of Indian National Congress was George Yule (1888).

  10. Youngest president of Indian National Congress was Maulana Abul Kalam Azad.

  11. First Muslim to become president of Indian National Congresswas Badrudin Tayabji (Madras, 1887).

  12. National Song, Vande Mataram was first sung in the session of Calcutta (1896).

  13. First joint session of Indian National Congress and Muslim League at Lucknow (1916).

  14. National Anthem, Jana Gana Mana was first sung in the session of Calcutta (1911)

  15. The only session of Indian National Congress presided over by Mahatma Gandhi was Belgaum (1924).

  16. Session of Indian National Congress where demand for complete independence was made at 1929(Lahore).

  17. Acharya J B Kriplani (1946) was the President of Indian National Congress at the time of independence.