Constitution of india preamble

constitution of india preamble

As per constitution of india preamble,Indian government (Central government) has three branches which are:-

  1. Legislature (Legislate or make a law)

  2. Executive(Executing and implement the law)

  3. Judiciary(Deciding disputes according to laws)

Legislature (Legislate or make a law)

In India, it is called parliament, which makes law for the whole country. There are two houses of Parliament.

  • Lok Sabha(Lower house)

  • Rajya sabha(Upper House).

Executive(Executing and implement the law)

The President, The Prime Minister and the cabinet form the executive branch of government.

Judiciary (Deciding disputes according to laws)

The Supreme Court,the High Courts and other lower Courts are included in the third branch of government

Important points of Constitution of india preamble

  1. constitution of india preamble defines the position and powers  of these branches of the government. The constitution is a body of laws according to constitution our country is governed. In our constitution there is a list our rights and duties

  2. The national struggle for freedom, under the leadership of congress party, gathered momentum after the outbreak of the second World War in 1939.the British Government, therefore, sent three of its ministers to find a solution to the question of india’s independence. The team of minister known as “Cabinet Mission

  3. Our recommendation of Cabinet Mission of Constituent Assembly was made to frame new constitution and an election was held in july 1946 to elect its members.

  4. As per our constitution of india preamble,the members were elected not by the people directly, but by the member of the provincial legislative assemblies. The number of members was decided on the basis of one representative for a population of ten lakhs.

  5. There were in all 389 members of the assembly. Most of these members belonged to the Indian National Congress.

  6. In 1947,the Constituent Assembly was left with 308 members. Even before the creation of Pakistan, the Muslim League members boycotted the assembly and did not attend its first meeting on December 9,1946

  7. The Assembly was fortunate in having its member sbelonging to different communities and regions of India and many important political leaders were:-

Members of Constituent Assembly

  1. Important Members

  • Jawaharlal Nehru

  • Rajendra Prasad

  • Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

  • Maulana Azad

  • Shyam Prasad Mookerji

  • Sardar Baldev Singh

  1. Constitution experts

  • Sir Alladi Krishnaswamy Aiyar

  • R.Ambedkar

  • M.Munshi

  1. Minorties Anglo-Indians/Parsees

  • Frank Anthony

  • P.Modi

  1. Women Members

  • Sarojini Naidu

  • Vijaya Laxmi Pandit

  • To draft the constitution,drafing committe was appointed. Dr.B.R.Ambedkar was the chairman of drafting committee.The other important member of the committee  were:-

Shri N.Gopalaswami Iyengar

Shri Alladi Krishnaswamy Aiyar

Shri K.M.Munshi and

Shri Saiyed  Mohammed Saadula

  1.  Assembly’ sessions were open to the press and the people. The suggestions of the people were also expressed freely in newspapers, Thus, people of India were indirectly involved in the making of their constitution.

  2. It took about three years (2 years,11 months and 18 days) for the constitution assembly to complete their work.

  3. The constitution was adopted by the constituent assembly on November 26 1949 but it came into force on January 26,1950.

  4. After the constitution came into force in 1950,Dr Rajendra Prasad ,who was the chairman of Constituent Assembly ,became the first elected president of India in 1952